[the start of] a scroll

collaged.jpg

Someone whose work I admire was rather obsessed with a concept similar to this.  While I didn’t really understand it at the time… as it has marinated in the back of my brain I am intrigued by this idea… something of a scrolling narrative perfect for a scrolling generation.  In a way, it functions like the scrolls of old…just revealing one part at a time with the read portions rolled up on one end and the unread rolled on the other.

scrolling

Which may seem pretty obvious… But I think there’s still a lot to be gained from experimenting with this format.  Because an image (or text) that is viewed this way is, by necessity, viewed differently than an image whose entire frame can be seen at once (and remains unchanged). There’s process here.  There’s sequencing. There’s pace. The more I think about this, the more I am understanding one of the projects that was assigned in one of my college classes… But enough for now..

book_reading-abook_is-this-a

[the start of] a scroll

3 thoughts on “[the start of] a scroll

  1. I really really like this, the work and the ideas. I’ve been away from the blog community for a while, just working on my own stuff, but I’m so glad you stopped by to read and indirectly reminded me to come see what you’ve been up to. If you don’t already know of it, I suggest looking into the work of Sonia Delaunay–she did some collaboration with a poet with the goal of unifying text and design, and what they made was very scroll-like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. m says:

      Thanks so much, that’s incredibly encouraging! Especially given that I consistently love your work and admire your talent with words (though I’m not a very consistent blog participant…) I will definitely look into Sonia Delaunay, I love new recommendations like that! Much appreciated

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And thank you–I meant to do more than like your reply and say that, so now I have. Also meant to say my suggestion of Delaunay’s work was somewhat whimsical and associative, as your [start of] a scroll reminded me of a pic a friend recently sent of a museum placard describing the project to which I so vaguely referred. I’ve still not looked into it myself, just kept the thought in mind.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment